You might have heard that you can be reimbursed up to $2,000 per child for the expenses of adopting a foster child in Utah. Under Utah Administrative Code Rule R512-43-4, a parent who adopts a foster child that meets certain criteria may be reimbursed for non-recurring adoption expenses on behalf of the child. Specifically, this Rule allows for up to $2,000 of reimbursement for adoption-related court fees, attorney fees, etc. This is called Adoption Assistance.
Rule R512 states, "In determining eligibility for adoption assistance, there is no income eligibility requirement or means test for the adoptive parents." So, rich or poor, the adopting parents can receive the $2000-per-child Adoption Assistance reimbursement.
The DCFS regional adoption assistance committee meets at least once per month to determine whether to approve reimbursement to the adopting parent(s). As part of our case processing, UALC provides a "paid" receipt to our clients who then provide that receipt to the DCFS Subsidy Specialist. We cannot go to the adoption hearing until after DCFS approves adoption assistance. The DCFS Subsidy Specialist processes the reimbursement request once the adoption is complete.
At Utah Adoption Law Center, we strive to keep the legal costs below $2,000 per child because we want our clients to be fully reimbursed if possible. If you have questions, please call or text us at (385) 200-1972 or (435) 592-1235. We look forward to serving you!